Climateworks Centre CEO Anna Skarbek is among six leading climate and finance figures joining the Glasgow Financial Alliance for Net Zero Asia-Pacific Advisory Board, which is newly formed.

The Glasgow Financial Alliance for Net Zero (GFANZ) has announced the formation of its Asia-Pacific (APAC) Network with the opening of its first Asia-Pacific office and the creation of a regional Advisory Board to accelerate net-zero action across Asia.

A close-up of Anna Skarbek standing outside smiling at the camera
Climateworks Centre CEO Anna Skarbek.

GFANZ is global coalition of financial sector institutions and their sector-specific alliances working together to accelerate the world’s transition to net zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050 and achieve the objective of the Paris Agreement to limit global warming to no more than 1.5 degrees C.

The alliance has over 450 member firms from across the financial sector, including banks, insurers, asset owners, asset managers, financial service providers and investment consultants, spanning 45 countries and representing around 40 per cent of global private financial assets.

According to the United Nations-backed Race to Zero campaign, USD 13.6 trillion in investment is required this decade in Asia-Pacific to advance the global net-zero transition and avoid the worst impacts of climate change.

GFANZ has launched its APAC Network to support engagement with financial institutions and policymakers across the APAC region. The Network will enable mutual knowledge-sharing and open dialogue on the opportunities and challenges of net zero.

The Network will be led by newly appointed GFANZ Director Yuki Yasui. Ms Yasui will report to the GFANZ leadership team of Mark Carney, Mike Bloomberg, Mary Schapiro, and Nigel Topping – as well as the newly formed GFANZ APAC Advisory Board.

Climateworks CEO Anna Skarbek will join the Advisory Board alongside leading experts on climate finance from both private, public, and civil society sectors, including:

  • Woochong Um, Managing Director General, Asia Development Bank (ADB)
  • Liqun Jin, President & Chair of Board of Directors of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB)
  • Dr Jongkyoo Yoon, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, KB Financial Group
  • Boon Chye Loh, Chief Executive Officer, SGX Group
  • Hiro Mizuno, UN Special Envoy on Innovative Finance and Sustainable Investments

More experts will join the Advisory Board over the course of the year.

For more information on the GFANZ APAC Network, go to the GFANZ website.